Sunday, February 6, 2011

What is "Counted" ? What is "Owned"?

P.s :For those of you who don't know the  '  "    " ' which enclose a word are called "Air-Quotes". They are to signify sarcasm.

COUNTED

So, What exactly is "Counted" ? . First of all, Counted is an Engrish word. What is Engrish? Go to www.engrish.com and find out NOW!. I have been hearing and also using the word since i was in like 3rd grade, so you can see it's hard to unlearn that. It is an offensive word to another saying something like "I won , yo" or "You Lose" or just to show some laughter there. There have been many words like this one such as "Patch" which is said like "PAAAAATCH". I started feeling ridiculous at around 6th grade when it was like "Count Stars!!". Then it just became "Count, Man!" which sounded pretty nice but since when I started taking interest in internet memes, PWNED or OWNED became much more suitable for situations where I would normally use the-word-which-is-so-inappropriate-we-all-got-pwned word. By the way, this post is getting a lotta red lines.

What can be taken as the meaning of "counted"..

#1 : The first off of my mind is : You have been turned into a Count [P.S:Count is a vampire, like Count Dracula]
#2:  Pwned: See topic: Pwned [later on]
#3:  Counted something. Like when someone hits you and in comics n all, stars start to revolve around your head   and they say "I'm seeing stars". So maybe you saw THOSE stars and counted them?
#4:  Failed. You do something wrong . So wrong that everyone starts laughing and someone shouts "COUNTED!". For eg: I sometimes challenge my friends and when I am wrong they feel it's necessary to say "COUNTED!".


OWNED/PWNED


Owned has pretty much evolved from computers [What else]. The hackers were like "I owned that site by hacking into it". Then began the OWNED meme. It became a part of standard slang. When you humiliate/ someone is humiliated, this is often said. After it became slang ,computer gamers incessantly typed "Owned" during multiplayer matches to taunt the opponents. Due to fast typing and mistakes and the placing of O near to P, Owned became Pwned.

What  can be taken as the meaning of "Owned"....
#1: Owned.....

30 Days with my first Android Phone


Day1-
        On the first day, I was like, “WOOO!”, I got my first awesome phone. I didn’t 
have WiFi so i was using the slow and expensive DoCoMo network. On the             first day, I was having trouble getting around the menus, the app drawer, and especially didn’t know which apps to choose from the market. The apps  market was a delightful sight to me. I had had Nokia 6600 and Nokia 3110c  before I had gotten this well-rounded and shaped phone. Above all it had  capacitative touch-which means no stylus necessary. It uses the small        amounts of electrical charges sent out by your body [TECH-GYAAN-ED]    So , anyway I was unfamiliar to the system.

Day10-
10 days.Each day it had cost me around 20 rs for browsing and downloading  apps and since it was a smartphone it meant being connected to internet 24/7. Very expensive to me who normally used to use around 10rs per month. I started my search for good WiFi routers. And also learnt something about rooting an android phone. Rooting means gaining administrator privileges to your phone. While this means gaining root access and more rights and more functionality and all, it also means chances of it being spoilt and never being repaired again. So i thought it wasn’t the right  time for me to do the rooting and flashing yet. [FLASHing-Upgrading your phone to a newer version of firmware]. Transferred some songs into my phone though i don’t actually listen to them.
Day20-
Hit upon a brainwave! I could watch  TV Shows right on my phone. Downloaded a trial of a Converter and transferred the output to my phone Psych ran just fine on android. No stutter, no lags, nothing. I began to feel that 2MP camera is a bit less for a phone with such fine quality and OS. But then who actually uses the phone camera. BTW if i haven’t mentioned yet,  my phone is GALAXY5 from Samsung.It has 600MHZ processor and runs a  2.1 version of android [ECLAIR]. 
Day30- 
Whenever my friends ask me which mobile is good below 10k or so, I suggest  going for GALAXY3 which has better features than GALAXY5 and at only 4k more. Certainly it had more value for money. On Day30, I got a WiFi router  to expell the enormous expenses that costed me due to DoCoMo and a bit of  brain failure as I could’ve just bought the 48/- pack which gives me 2GB/month.
Jan8-9-10-
Spoiled my phone for the first time. Tried flashing back to Android 2.1 to get back the ringtones in Android 2.1 from Android 2.2. But unfortunately some thing went wrong and I screwed up.I gave my phone to customer service center and got it back on 14th which is yesterday.